Advanced Search

This “severity” scale was made official in February 1994 by the Committee of Competent Authorities (CCA) of EU Member States as a means of applying the SEVESO Directive.

It is based on a series of 18 technical parameters intended to objectively characterise the effects or consequences of accidents. Each of these parameters contains 6 levels, with the highest level determining the accident’s index rating.

Since 2003, France has used this European scale to represent 4 indices. The parameters taken into account and their rating protocol are explained in the table below.

European scale description

European scale description


European scale picture creator

Download the description of the european scale (.pdf – 1.07 Mo)

Download the programm to generate EU scale  (.zip – 230 ko)

Published 01/07/2013